Michael Kremer


He is University Professor at the Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics at the University of Chicago. With Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo, he was awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize for Economics, for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, and a recipient of the MacArthur Fellowship and a Presidential Faculty Fellowship. He was named as a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum. His most recent research concerns education, health, water resources, and agriculture in developing countries. He helped develop the Advance Market Commitment (AMC) for vaccines to stimulate private investment in vaccine research and the distribution of vaccines for diseases in developing countries.